Church Government

This is a brief summary of the government of South Church.

The affairs of the church shall be administered by the senior pastor and the official board through the four policy-making boards, or councils, of the church which are subordinate to the official board.

Official Board

- The official board shall be made up of all the elected officers of the church (Senior Pastor, Clerk, Treasurer, Deacons, Trustees, Missions, Christian Education, and Deaconess Chairman)
- other pastors are non-voting ex-officio members
- they meet at least once each year, on the last Wednesday in March
- they draft the church budget for congregational approval
- they approve a list of candidates to be elected by the congregation
- there are over thirty people on this board

Deacon Board

- · to direct the overall spiritual life of the church
- they meet monthly
- they serve for a three year term and cannot serve two successive full terms
- there are twelve deacons

Trustees Board

- to supervise the overall physical concerns of the church
- they meet monthly
- · they serve a three year term and cannot serve two successive full terms
- there are seven trustees

Mission Board

- to create and foster missionary interest within the church
- · to advise the official board regarding a missionary budget
- they serve a three year term and cannot serve two successive full terms
- there are eight people on this board
- an annual mission conference is held each fall

Christian Education Council

- to coordinate all the education programs of the church
- they serve a three year term and cannot serve two successive full terms
- there are six people on this board

Clerk, Treasurer

· these offices are elected annually